English Armenian
Facebook Twitter RSS Feed 

The beginnings of our church and how we became what we are today.

Rev. Dn. Narek Garabedian

Michelle Babikian

Vice Chairman
Craig Koresian

Arden Karian

Asst. Treasurer
Kenarr Chiodo

Guy Adami

Asst Secretary
David Demirjian

Leona Mirza

Church Secretary
Paula Clare


VemkarEstablished: 1915
Consecrated: October 4, 1964

Sanctuary: The parish owns its permanent sanctuary, which is not the original one. The previous building was at 1000 N. Hoyne Ave, in Chicago, from 1922-64

Important Events: The 50th anniversary of the parish was celebrated in 1976. The parish served as host to the 40th Annual Choir Assembly in 1986 and the 91st Diocesan Assembly in 1993.
Diocesan Clergy Grows with New Priest Ordinations, New Pastor Assignments

V. Rev. Fr. Vahram Nazaretian, 1915-18; Rev. Fr. Yeghishe Laichenjian, 1918-25; Rev. Fr. Vahan Guldalian, 1925-38; V. Rev. Fr. Skon Hagopian, 1940-41; V. Rev. Fr. Vahram Nazaretian, 1943-53; Rev. Fr. Dikran Khoian, 1953; Rev. Fr. Vertanes Papazian, 1954-58; Rev. Fr. Nerses Baboorian, 1960-62; Dn. Hovhannes Kasparian, 1962-64; V. Rev. Fr. Vahrij Kazandjian, 1964-66; Rev. Fr. Sarkis Kashikjian, 1966-73; V. Rev. Fr. Varoujan Dz. V. Kabaradjian (visiting) 1973-78; V. Rev. Fr. Jirayr Tashjian, 1973-78; Rev. Fr. Vahram A. Hazarian, 1983-90; Rev. Archpriest Haik Donikian (visiting), 1991-94; V. Rev. Fr. Paren Dz. V. Avedikian, 1994-96; Rev. Archpriest Haik Donikian (visiting), 1996-97; Very Rev Fr Aren Jebejian, 1998-2015; Rev. Dn. Narek Garabedian (Deacon-in-Charge), 2017- present

© St. Gregory The Illuminator Armenian Church | Sitemap | Login